I enjoy watching Doctor Who. My favourite original doctor is Tom Baker, or ‘Jelly Baby doctor’ while my favourite new-who doctor is David Tennant. Obviously I also have favourite episodes but there’s too many of those for me to name here. Let’s just say anything with Tennant I probably enjoyed, and most of Christopher Ecclestone’s episodes. I even quite like Peter Capaldi,  something which seems to be rare from what I can tell.

However, one thing about Doctor Who that really annoys me is bad writers. And this isn’t just a complaint about Steven Moffat, although he is the one who’s stories I find most boring. Take the episode that aired last Saturday, “Thin Ice”. It was written by a woman named Sarah Dollard, who also wrote the season 9 episode “Face the Raven”. The fact that I enjoyed Face the Raven but find Thin Ice completely boring and long winded actually surprised me, but I understand that every writer has good and bad stories. I understand this even better as I write stories – I’ve reread some of my old stories and seen just how bad some of them are compared to more recent stuff.

The main complaint I have with Doctor Who is some of the season plots are a bit… ridiculous. Which, considering it’s a fantasy/science-fiction show, is not something I thought I’d be saying. I just think this whole vault thing is a bad plot for the season. That being said, some of the fan theories I’ve read about this vault are interesting. One fan theory is that the Master, John Simm, is inside that vault. Another is that the cybermen from the original series, the Mondas cybermen, are inside the vault waiting to be released. Both make sense as it was announced John Simm’s Master was returning and so are the Mondas cybermen. I guess we’ll see just what’s inside the vault, if we don’t die of boredom first watching episodes like “The Pilot” and “Thin Ice”. If other episodes were more like “Smile”, an episode I really enjoyed, then I will be watching this series excitedly. I guess I’ll see what this Saturday’s episode, “Knock Knock” is like. The trailer made me think this will be a good episode but I’ll see.

Leave a Reply

